EE Forum to Induct Leaders

June 15, 2009
/ Print / Reprints /
/ Text Size+

WASHINGTON - Johnson Controls Inc. and the United States Energy Association (USEA) will honor 22 leaders who have dedicated their careers to energy efficiency at the inaugural Energy Efficiency Forum Hall of Fame event on June 15 at 6:30 p.m. at the Newseum in Washington, D.C. It precedes the 20th Anniversary of the Energy Efficiency Forum - the first such event of its type to convene highâ€'ranking politicians, business leaders, and NGOs to promote energy efficiency. The forum takes place the following day at the National Press Club.

“Looking back over two decades we have seen many promises, policies, and strategies in dealing with our energy challenges,” said Barry K. Worthington, USEA executive director and forum co-chair. “We believe it’s appropriate to honor those who make energy efficiency their personal and professional passion.”

The inductees include Spencer Abraham, former U.S. Secretary of Energy; Kateri Callahan, president, Alliance to Save Energy; Eileen Claussen, president, Pew Center on Global Climate Change and Strategies for the Global Environment; Douglas Decker, founder, Energy Efficiency Forum; Byron Dorgan, U.S. Senator, North Dakota; Christine Ervin, former president, U.S. Green Buildings Council; David Garman, former Under Secretary of Energy; John Gibbons, first director, U.S. Office of Energy Conservation; Mark Ginsberg, former director, Federal Energy Management Program; Kathleen Hogan, director, Climate Protection Partnerships Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; Alexander “Andy” Karsner, former assistant secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy; Thomas Kuhn, president, Edison Electric Institute; Tom Leppert, former CEO of Turner Construction, mayor of Dallas; Greg Nichols, mayor of Seattle; Hazel O’Leary, former U.S. Secretary of Energy, president, Fisk University; Dan Reicher, former assistant secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable energy, director, Climate Change and Energy Initiatives,; James Rogers, chairman, president and chief executive officer, Duke Energy; Philip Sharp, former U.S. Congressman, Indiana; president, Resources for the Future; Branko Terzic, former Federal Energy Regulatory commissioner, regulatory policy leader energy & resources, Deloitte Services LP; Christine Whitman, former governor of New Jersey, former EPA administrator; and Timothy E. Wirth, former U.S. Senator, Colorado, president, United Nations Foundation.

For more information, visit

Publication date: 06/15/2009

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2014 MCAA Annual Convention

Scenes from the 2014 MCAA Annual Convention in Scottsdale, Ariz.


NEWSmakers: Julian Scadden

Training is an ongoing process. Julian will discuss how you can generate maximum return on time and energy invested training by following a three part process. Listen to this podcast to get expert tips on training, tracking and follow up. 

More Podcasts


NEWS 04-21-14 cover

2014 April 21

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe


Which statement on service calls best applies to your business?
View Results Poll Archive


2014 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con