Ten students studying HVAC construction will share $17,500 in scholarships from the AHRI’s Clifford H. “Ted” Rees, Jr., Scholarship Foundation.

Seven of the recipients are enrolled at Bevill State Community College in Sumiton, Ala.: Robert Colburn, Brandon Harris, Cameron Harris, Kenneth Humber, William McDonald, Landon Short and Micah Woodward.

Evelyn Zavala is attending Montgomery College in Rockville, Md., Ryan Pullam is going to Ranken Technical College in St. Louis, and military veteran Robert Haggard is attending Black Hawk Tech in Janesville, Wis.

“These students are a shining example of the qualified, dedicated HVACR and water-heating technicians we need to fill good-paying jobs that cannot be outsourced,” said the Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute President & CEO Stephen Yurek. “We wish them success in their educational pursuits and careers.”

The AHRI represents most of the major manufacturers of HVAC sales equipment.