ASHRAE has a new president. The engineering society installed Shelia J. Hayter, P.E., as its 2018-2019 leader.

A group manager with the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colorado, she will also act as chairwoman of the society’s directors board and executive committee.

Hayter said the theme for her term will be “Building our new energy future.”

“ASHRAE is eager to establish new networks and partnerships as we expand the society’s opportunities to engage the many industry sectors that have a stake in our new energy future,” she said. “We will strengthen our leadership position by serving as a bridge that connects buildings, energy and the environment to new ideas and technologies to advance toward a more sustainable world for future generations.”

ASHRAE also announced these officers: President-elect Darryl K. Boyce, P.E.; Vice Presidents Julia A. Keen, Ph.D., P.E.; Malcom Dennis Knight, P.E.; Michael C. A. Schwedler, P.E.; Farooq Mehboob, P.E.; and Treasurer Charles E. Gulledge III, P.E.

Hayter and the other officers were named during the group’s June 23-27 annual conference in Houston.