HVAC Breaking News

PHCC Announces 2001 Convention Award Winners

October 11, 2001
/ Print / Reprints /
/ Text Size+
RENO, NV — Numerous awards were presented at the 2001 Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors-National Association convention held Sept. 12-16, 2001, held here in Reno.

The award winners included the following.

  • Bradford White industry scholarships: James Allen, Ohio; James Addessi, Rhode Island;
  • Col. George D. Scott Award: Robert Wark, Village Plumbing Co., Houston, TX;
  • Delta Apprentice of the Year: Paul Palusky, Saginaw, MN (sponsor — L. Carlson Bros. Plumbing & Heating, Duluth, MN);
  • Delta Plumbing Contractor of the Year: winner — Steven Heidler, Heidler Inc. Plumbing & Heating, Annapolis, MD; runners-up — Walter Woycik, Mystic, CT, and Colin Wunder, Howard, SD;
  • Delta Scholarship winners: Georgi Lynne Bienvenu, Metairie, LA; Anthony Brian Saccoccio, Bryan, TX; Matthew Morrone, Lowellville, OH; and Lindsay Anne Whitaker, Durham, NC;
  • Hvac Contractor award: Dick White, Repairs, Inc., South Bend, IN;
  • In-Sink-Erator Giveaway winners: grand prize winner — Amos Fox, Fox Plumbing Services, Inc., Sarasota, FL; state chapter credited with most ticket sales — PHCC Minnesota; and state chapter winner of special drawing — PHCC of New York;
  • PHCC Educational Foundation Industry Achievement award: Tom A. Dugan Sr. , Anaheim Manufacturing, Anaheim, CA;
  • PHCC Educational Foundation Scholarship awards: Georgi Lynne Bienvenu, Metairie, LA (the Charles F. Hiley Sr., Scholarship); Anthony Brian Saccoccio, Bryan, TX; Matthew Morrone, Lowellville, OH; and Lindsay Anne Whitaker, Durham, NC;
  • PHCC Educational Foundation/Moen Golf Tournament winners: Paul Taecker, Andor, Inc./Taecker Plumbing & Heating, South Dakota; Jim and Tami Johnson, Tatro Plumbing, Kansas; and Bryan Stansell, Stamar, Inc., Georgia;
  • PHCC Educational Foundation/Moen Golf Tournament winner of set of clubs drawing: Kim Oliver, RJO Plumbing, Inc., San Diego, CA;
  • AEC Spectrum award: Gordon MacEwan, executive director of the Massachusetts PHCC;
  • AEC publication awards: local newsletter (0-75) Dorothy Reddy, Western New York PMCA;
  • State newsletter (0-75) Stacy Grewek, PHCC of Nebraska, “Nebraska News”;
  • State newsletter (0-200) Sherry Hernandez, PHCC of Nevada, “Plumbline”;
  • State magazine (0-75) Charles Mitchell, PHCC of Washington, “PHCC of Washington News”;
  • State magazine (76-200) Pam Luther, Florida PHCC, “PHCC Contractor”;
  • State magazine (201-plus) Nancy Jones, APHCC of Texas, “Texas Journal”;
  • State convention publication (0-75) Betty Gill, Tennessee PHCC;
  • State convention publication (76-200) Linda Lindsten, Oregon PHCC;
  • State convention publication (201-plus) Brenda Dant, Indiana PHCC;
  • NAPHCC Auxiliary Robert Cox Humanitarian award: first-place recruitment — Delaware; first-place image — New Jersey; second-place recruitment — Louisiana; second-place image — North Carolina; and honorable mentions — Illinois, Maryland, New Orleans, and Wisconsin;
  • NAPHCC Auxiliary Larry Dore Member of the Year award: winner — Anne Williams, Massachusetts; runners-up — Kitty Degli Obizzi, Delaware, and Jean Perlstein, New Jersey;
  • NAPHCC Auxiliary Scholarship awards: A.O. Smith award — Natalie Thurman, Minnesota; American Standard scholarship — David Batty, Pennsylvania; Ginny award — Kimberly Bienvenu, Louisiana; In Memory of Larry Parrielli — Christopher MacNeil, Massachusetts; and
  • NAPHCC Auxiliary 2001 State scholarship winners: Amy Marie Bombini and Jessica Browne, California; Peter Bowman, Connecticut; Erica Foster and Lindsey Ostafy, Delaware; Wendy Stanford and Christopher Jany, Illinois; Jamie Marie Kunkel, Indiana; Taylor Harlow, Amanda Buffat, and John Buffat, Kentucky; Rachel Dorsay and Kelly Graham, Massachusetts; Carl Zimmerman, Maryland; Amanda Kreifels, Nebraska; Lindsey Whitaker, North Carolina; Ross Maddalon, Joseph Gonella, Maria Gonella, and Emily Buehrle, New Jersey; Franklin Rotker, Seth Shapiro, and Karen Axelson, New York; Marci Ann Hickman, Ohio; Annarose Foley and David Batty, Pennsylvania; and Joseph Gumm and Ann Katherine Eberhardt, Wisconsin.
  • Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

    Recent Articles by Barbara Checket-Hanks

    You must login or register in order to post a comment.



    Image Galleries

    2014 World Energy Engineering Congress

    Scenes from the 2014 World Energy Engineering Congress in Washington, D.C.


    NEWSMakers: Cynthia Hutson

    Cynthia Hutson, chairperson of ACCA of Central Ohio, talks about the organization’s Heat the Town events, the importance of carbon monoxide checks, and what is coming up for ACCA. Posted on Nov. 21.

    More Podcasts


    NEWS 11-24-14 cover

    2014 November 24

    Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

    Table Of Contents Subscribe


    Now that EPA has finalized its R-22 phaseout plan, with a large drop in 2015, do you think there will be an adequate supply next year?
    View Results Poll Archive


    2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

    Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

    More Products

    Clear Seas Research


    Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


    Magazine image
    Register today for complete access to ACHRNews.com. Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


    facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con