Industry Leaders Honored At ARI's Annual Meeting

December 17, 2004
/ Print / Reprints /
/ Text Size+
SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. - Eight industry leaders were recognized with special awards by the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (ARI) at its 51st Annual Meeting in Scottsdale, Ariz.

ARI Chairman David R. Pannier presented the 2004 Richard C. Schulze Distinguished Service Award for outstanding service to the air conditioning and refrigeration industry to Maureen Beatty, Thomas E. Bettcher, Edward W. Dooley, Scott Postle, and Robert Wilkins.

Beatty, vice president of Operations for National Refrigerants Inc., received the award for her exemplary leadership and commitment to ARI, especially her role in the creation of ARI's Reclaimed Refrigerant product section.

Bettcher, president and CEO of Copeland Corp., received the award for his support and outstanding counsel to ARI over the years, including his work as chairman of the ARI Board of Directors during ARI's 50th anniversary celebration in 2003.

Dooley served as vice president of communications and education at ARI for more than 12 years until his recent retirement. He received the award for his help in guiding ARI through the phase-out of CFCs by crafting policy statements, speeches, and articles.

Postle, manager of Marketing Statistics for Carrier Corp., received the award for his key role in the streamlining of ARI's statistics programs. He served five terms as chairman of ARI's General Statistics Committee and also as chairman of ARI's Unitary Statistics Committee.

Wilkins, president of Danfoss, received the award for his many years of outstanding service to ARI as a product section and committee chairman. He has served on ARI's Executive Committee since 1998, and was ARI treasurer from 1998 to 2002. Wilkins is chairman of the ARI Expo Policy Committee.

The 2004 ARI Meritorious Service Award was presented to the Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA) for the organization's many years of outstanding support of ARI's regulatory, legislative, educational, and consumer initiatives.

Daniel W. Holmes, Jr., chairman of Morrison Products, was presented the ARI Lifetime Achievement Award for his more than two decades of ARI leadership, first as a product section chairman beginning in 1978 and later as ARI treasurer from 1988 to 1993, and as ARI director-at-large from 1994 to 2001.

Also receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award was Kenneth Ohlemeyer, president of Sporlan Valve Co. Ohlemeyer has given more than four decades of service to his company and the industry and helped steer ARI through the phaseout of CFC refrigerants.

Publication date: 12/20/2004

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2014 World Energy Engineering Congress

Scenes from the 2014 World Energy Engineering Congress in Washington, D.C.


NEWSMakers: Ed Purvis

Emerson Climate Technologies executive president and business leader Ed Purvis discusses HVACR industry trends, the strength of the industry, and Emerson’s new innovation center. Posted on Dec. 26.

More Podcasts


NEWS 12-22-14 cover

2014 December 22

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe


In order to bring more people into the trade and produce more technicians, what should the industry do?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con