People for the Week:

James C. Thompson Raychem HTS

Robert Butts Comfort Systems USA Florida, Inc.
  • James C. Thompson has been named president of Raychem HTS (Menlo Park, CA), an operating unit of Tyco Flow Control.
  • Comfort Systems USA Florida, Inc., (Longwood, FL) appointed Robert Butts to the position of customer service reprentative.
  • Refrigeration Service Engineers Society (RSES) announced that long-time hvacr industry expert Glenn Hannegan Jr. has agreed to serve as an instructor for RSES courses. Since 1971, Hannegan has worked for several companies in various capacities including conducting service training meetings for thousands of Copeland customers.
  • Gary L. Tapella, president and ceo of Rheem Manufacturing Co., will remain chairman of the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute's (ARI's) board of directors until May 31, 2001, it was announced at ARI's 47th Annual Meeting. Other officers named at the annual meeting include:

  • — first vice chairman, Daniel W. Holmes Jr., chairman and ceo, Morrison Products Co.; — second vice chairman, Thomas E. Bettcher, president/ceo, Copeland Global; — treasurer, Robert Wilkins, president, Danfoss Automatic Controls; and — immediate past president, Robert E.G. Ractcliffe, chairman and ceo, Nordyne. Other officers confirmed by the board includes several vice presidents: — Jon Ayers, president, Carrier Global, Carrier Corp.; — Horace E. French, president and coo, Heatcraft Inc.; — Joseph R. Humphrey, vice president, Advanced Engineering, Tyler Refrigeration Corp.; — David J. Huntley, president, Mammoth, Inc.; — Dennis J. McCloskey, group vice president, Tecumseh Products Co.; — David Pannier, president, Trane Unitary Products Group - North America, The Trane Company; and — John Reilly, president and ceo, National Refrigeration Products. Newly elected directors at large are: — Scott Boxer, president, Lennox International, Inc.; — Eric Evans, group executive/president, air conditioning, Copeland Corp.; — Debbie Hawkins, president Superior Coils; and — Dave LeGrand, president and ceo, Nordyne, Inc. Newly elected product section chairs are: — Mark Baunchalk, global business manager of refrigerants, E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co. – Chemicals Product Section; — Joe Clark, director of marketing, Scotsman Ice Systems – Automatic Commercial Ice Makers Product Section; — Daniel Conroy, vice president, Texas Instruments, Inc. – Automatic Controls Product Section; — Ralph Coppola, president and ceo, Hill-Phoenix – Commercial Refrigerator Manufacturers Division; — Jim Dudley, senior vice president, refrigeration products, The Trane Company – Liquid Chillers Product Section; — Karl Mutchnik, team leader, The Trane Company – Unitary Small Equipment Product Section; — Ed Russell, coo, Oasis Corp., – Water Coolers Product Section; — Frank Sraj, vice president of sales & marketing, Lau – Fans and Blowers Product section; — Ric Tharp, director, product management, Dunham-Bush, Inc. – Thermal Storage Product Section; — Will Wilson, president and ceo, Russell – Industrial Refrigeration and Heat Transfer Product Section; and — Ron Woodbury, marketing manager, VAV products, Environmental Technologies – Air Control and Distribution Devices Product Section. Eleven industry leaders were recognized with special awards this year at the ARI Annual Meeting. The 2000 Richard C. Schulze Distinguished Service Award recipients are: Irv Derks, Peter W. Likes, Joseph F. Loprete, Matthew J. McKenna, Robert E.G. Ractcliffe, and Thomas E. Watson. Kenneth Hickman received the ARI Lifetime Achievement Award, while Jeffery Forker was presented with ARI's Meritorious Service Award. A Special Recognition Award was presented to Mitchell Cropp, Jeffery Forker, John Garvelink, Robert E.G. Ractcliffe, and Joseph Zeiner for their support and dedication to the North American Technician Excellence (NATE) program.

    Publication date: 11/27/2000

    Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

    Recent Articles by Cherie Preville

    You must login or register in order to post a comment.



    Image Galleries

    2015 HARDI Fly-In

    Highlights from HARDI's Congressional Fly-In in Washington, D.C. Post date: May 28, 2015.


    NEWSMakers: Kevin Conrad
    Kevin Conrad, president, Kevin Conrad Heating and Cooling Inc., Nantucket, Massachusetts, breaks down working in the New England climate, the benefits of insulation foam, and more.

    More Podcasts


    NEWS 06-29-15 cover

    2015 June 29

    Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

    Table Of Contents Subscribe

    Online Reviews

    Do you track online review sites like Yelp to look for comments on your company’s performance?
    View Results Poll Archive


    2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

    Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

    More Products

    Clear Seas Research


    Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


    Magazine image
    Register today for complete access to Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


    facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con