HVAC Breaking News

Oct. 10, 2013: ASHRAE Announces 2013-2014 Scholarship Recipients

Over the Course of 24 Years ASHRAE Has Awarded Over $1.3 Million

ATLANTA — ASHRAE announced that its HVACR scholarship program has awarded $106,000 in scholarship money for the 2013-2014 academic year.

David Meredith, chair of the ASHRAE Scholarship Trustees, said, “When I look at the global leadership that past scholarship recipients have demonstrated throughout their professional career, I am proud of what the ASHRAE Scholarship Program has been able to accomplish. I can’t wait to see how this year’s recipients help shape our future.”

The recipients of ASHRAE’s scholarship assistance include:

• Reuben Trane Scholarship: $10,000 to be awarded over two years — Richard Melo, Wentworth Institute of Technology, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by the Trane Co. in memory of its founder.

• Willis H. Carrier Scholarships: $10,000 for one year — Breeann Foran, Montana State University, mechanical engineering; and Nicholas Rekstad, Pennsylvania State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship was established by Carrier Corp. in memory of its founder.

• Lynn G. Bellenger Engineering Scholarship: $5,000 for one year — Tiffany Williams, North Carolina A&T State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship, which is being awarded for the first time this year, recognizes a female undergraduate engineering student. It is named in memory of Lynn G. Bellenger, ASHRAE’s first female president.

• Frank M. Coda Scholarship: $5,000 for one year — Travis Norris, East Carolina University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was created in memory of ASHRAE’s former executive vice president, who served from 1981-2004.

• David C.J. Peters Scholarship: $5,000 for one year — Mei Yung Wong, Oklahoma State University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship is awarded to a third-year student in a four-year undergraduate mechanical engineering program or a fourth-year student in a five-year undergraduate mechanical engineering program at Pennsylvania State University, Virginia Tech, California State University, Oklahoma State University, University of Texas, Clemson University, North Carolina State University, University of Nebraska, Cal Poly State University, or University of Nevada. The scholarship was created by Southland Industries to honor Peters, an advocate of recruiting quality.

• General Scholarships: $5,000 for one year — Mitchell Hoesing, South Dakota State University, mechanical engineering; and Peter Kohler, University of North Carolina, mechanical engineering.

• Memorial Scholarship: $5,000 for one year — Nathan Stoltzfus, Ohio State University, agricultural engineering.

The following awards provide one-year $3,000 scholarships:

• Lynn G. Bellenger Engineering Technology Scholarship: Sara Piekunka, Rochester Institute of Technology, mechanical engineering technology. The scholarship recognizes female engineering technology students and is named in memory of Bellenger. This is the first year that the scholarship is being awarded

• Region III Boggarm S. Setty Scholarship: Hunter Bachman, University of Delaware, mechanical engineering. This scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate engineering student attending an institution within ASHRAE Region III, which covers Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Washington, D.C., and is named after Boggram Setty, Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member.

• Duane Hanson Scholarship: Kim Rogers, Kettering University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by Gayner Engineers and is named for the company’s former president.

• Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: Man Sze Chan, The University of Hong Kong, building services engineering. The scholarship is named for an industry pioneer and ASHRAE Fellow who was granted 219 patents.

• Henry Adams Scholarship: Mahmoud Mohammed, University of Illinois, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by Henry Adams Inc. in memory of its founder, a Charter Member and sixth president of ASHRAE’s predecessor society, ASHVE, established in 1899.

• Region VIII Scholarship: Gaizka Lasa, University of Oklahoma, industrial engineering. The scholarship is awarded to students attending schools within the geographic boundaries of ASHRAE Region VIII, which includes Arkansas, Oklahoma, Mexico, and parts of Louisiana and Texas.

• Donald E. Nichols Scholarship: Anthony Taylor, Tennessee Technological University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate engineering student attending Tennessee Technological University. It is named for a former ASHRAE vice president and graduate of Tennessee Technological University.

• Bachelor of Engineering Technology Scholarship: Yoginder Rana, Ferris State University, HVAC&R technology.

• Associate of Engineering Technology Scholarship: Cody Bomers, Grand Rapids Community College, HVAC&R Technology.

• High School Senior Scholarships: Elizabeth Lynch, Iowa State University, engineering; Jacquelyn Sommers, Kansas State University, architectural engineering; Joshua Roper, University of Wisconsin, mechanical engineering; and Kali Rosendo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, environmental engineering. The scholarships were established in 2010 for high school seniors entering their freshman year of college in an engineering or engineering technology program.

Over the course of 24 years ASHRAE has awarded over $1.3 million to approximately 275 undergraduate and graduate students. For more information on ASHRAE’s scholarships, visit www.ashrae.org/scholarships. Applications are now being accepted for the 2014-15 undergraduate, regional/chapter, and university-specific scholarships. The deadline is Dec. 1, 2013.

Publication date: 10/7/2013

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join The NEWS on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn today!

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2015 HARDI Fly-In

Highlights from HARDI's Congressional Fly-In in Washington, D.C.


NEWSMakers: Clint Schreck

Clint Schreck, general manager, Columbus Worthington Air, Columbus, Ohio, discusses winning Angie’s List Super Service Award, how to handle online reviews, and much more.

More Podcasts


NEWS 05-25-15 cover

2015 May 25

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe

Legislation and Regulation

What legislative/regulatory issue is most important to you as a HVAC business owner?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to ACHRNews.com. Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con