Newsline / News

Nexstar Announces Scholarship Winners

LITTLE CANADA, Minn. — The Nexstar Legacy Foundation announced their first round of 2012-2013 scholarship award winners. A total of $34,500 was awarded to 16 students, with scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $6,000. The award winners are pursuing education in preparation for careers within the HVAC, plumbing, and electrical industry.

“The mission of the Nexstar Legacy Foundation is to give back through an industry that has been so good to us,” said Bill Raymond, foundation president and owner of Frank & Lindy Plumbing & Heating Service Co., Peekskill, N.Y.

Each year, scholarships are awarded to students based upon merit and chosen by a scholarship selection committee comprised of industry leaders both inside, and outside of Nexstar Network.

The scholarship program is the major gifting program of the Nexstar Legacy Foundation. The largest annual award is the Frank Blau Jr. Award of $6,000, awarded to a student who is enrolled in a four-year program with the intent of working in the industry. Julie Wieman, president of MacGregor Plumbing & Heating, Harbor Springs, Mich., serves as the foundation vice president and scholarship chair.

“We want to inspire people to discover the prestige, earning power, and stability of careers in the plumbing, HVAC, and electrical industries by being the leading resource for career information, training, and financial aid,” she noted.

Approximately 86 high school students, college students, and industry professionals applied for this year’s scholarships. This fall, an additional $7,500 will be awarded to students enrolled in technical school/apprentice programs, bringing this year’s total to $42,000, more than double of last year.

This year’s winners include the following recipients.

Sarah Masters, Allendale, N.J., received the Frank J. Blau Jr. Honorary Scholarship worth $6,000. Cody Cannon, Morris, Minn., and Benjamin Wineinger, Reading, Mich.; received $5,000 scholarships.

Scott Steier, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, received a $3,000 scholarship. Colleen Koenig, Centennial, Colo.; Devon Castro, Albuquerque, N.M.; and Logan Messmer, Jasper, Ind.; received $2,000 scholarships.

Andrew Ballantyne, South China, Maine, received a $1,500 award. Travis Callahan, Manassas, Va.; Andrew Genevro, Brockport, Pa.; Victoria Weems, Atlanta; Graham Thurber, Topeka, Kan.; Tim McGuire, Long Lake, Minn.; Stephanie Stevens, Wylie, Texas; Rylan Easter, Pateros, Wash.; and Evan Dukart, Wibaux, Mont.; received $1,000 awards.

Publication date: 8/6/2012

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2015 HARDI Fly-In

Highlights from HARDI's Congressional Fly-In in Washington, D.C. Post date: May 28, 2015.


NEWSMakers: Kevin Conrad
Kevin Conrad, president, Kevin Conrad Heating and Cooling Inc., Nantucket, Massachusetts, breaks down working in the New England climate, the benefits of insulation foam, and more.

More Podcasts


NEWS 06-29-15 cover

2015 June 29

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe

Online Reviews

Do you track online review sites like Yelp to look for comments on your company’s performance?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con