ASHRAE Recognizes Industry Achievers

Lynn Bellenger, ASHRAE president (left) and Jeff Littleton, executive vice president (right) present the F. Paul Anderson award to the recipient Richard P. Perry, P. Eng. (center).

LAS VEGAS - The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) recognized individuals for their contributions to the society and the building industry at the organization’s 2011 Winter Conference held Jan. 29-Feb. 2.

The F. Paul Anderson Award, ASHRAE’s highest given for technical achievement, is awarded for notable achievement of outstanding services performed in the HVACR field. The recipient is Presidential Member Richard P. Perry, P. Eng, Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, senior engineer, emeritus, DEC Design Mechanical Consultants, Ltd., New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada.

The 50-Year Member Award is given to persons who have been a member of the society for 50 years and have performed outstanding service to ASHRAE or its predecessor societies. The recipient is Richard Wright, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, who resides in Algood, Tenn.

The ASHRAE Student Design Project Competition challenged teams of students to create an integrated sustainable building design as well as select and design HVACR systems for the Ginsburg Tower, a 15-story patient tower, at Florida Hospital in Orlando, Fla. First place in HVAC System Design is awarded to Michael Angell, Nathaniel Boyd, Edward Gillett, Trong Nguyen, and Justin Wiese of University of Central Florida, Orlando, Fla.

First place in HVAC System Selection is awarded to Zac Buckmiller, Matt Kolins, Todd Kuno, Jared Palan, Nicole Vogt, and Joel Wheeler of Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.

First place in the Integrated Sustainable Building Design is awarded to Carolyn Lamb, Ryland Phelps, and Amy Rose Keyzer of Lawrence Technological University, Southfield, Mich.

The John F. James International Award is given to an ASHRAE member who has done the most to enhance the society’s international presence. The recipient is Yuan-Wei Wu, chief engineer, Chinese Association of Refrigeration, Beijing.

The E.K. Campbell Award honors outstanding achievements by engineering educators is presented by the ASHRAE Life Members Club. The recipient is William Ryan, Ph.D., P.E., director of the Masters of Energy Engineering Program in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC).

Publication date: 02/21/2011

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2015 HARDI Fly-In

Highlights from HARDI's Congressional Fly-In in Washington, D.C. Post date: May 28, 2015.


NEWSMakers: Clint Schreck

Clint Schreck, general manager, Columbus Worthington Air, Columbus, Ohio, discusses winning Angie’s List Super Service Award, how to handle online reviews, and much more.

More Podcasts


NEWS 06-01-15 cover

2015 June 1

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe


The EPA has approved several hydrocarbon (HC) refrigerants for HVACR applications. Do you support the use of HCs?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con