HVAC Breaking News

Sept. 13, 2010: ASHRAE Announces Scholarship Award Winners

ATLANTA - The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) announced that it is awarding over $80,000 in scholarship funds for the 2010-11 school year.

“ASHRAE acknowledges the need to be supportive of students and the development of a future generation of ASHRAE members continuing to ‘advance the arts and sciences of HVACR’,” said Victor Goldschmidt, chair of the ASHRAE Scholarship Trustees. “At these times of a challenging economy and need for technical advances, it is more important than ever to be involved in providing scholarships to worthy students, and through our chapters, having a presence with institutions with HVACR related programs.”

The 19 recipients of ASHRAE’s scholarship awards are:

• Reuben Trane Scholarship: $10,000 to be awarded over two years, Benjamin Oliver, McMaster University, mechanical engineering and management; Jacob Wagner, Kansas State University, mechanical engineering; and Sean Kolich, Kansas State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship was established by the Trane Co. in memory of its founder.

• Willis H. Carrier Scholarships: $10,000 for one year, Daniel Cowan, University of New Haven, mechanical engineering, and Andrea Gregg, Kansas State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship was established by the Carrier Corp. in memory of its founder.

• Frank M. Coda: $5,000 for one year, Scott Reed, East Carolina University, engineering. The scholarship was created in memory of ASHRAE’s former executive vice president, who served from 1981-2004.

The following awards include one-year $3,000 scholarships:

• Duane Hanson Scholarship: Sean Holder, St. Louis University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by Gayner Engineers and is named for the company’s former president.

• Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: Cory Hultz, Oregon Institute of Technology, mechanical engineering. The scholarship is named for an industry pioneer and ASHRAE Fellow who was granted 219 patents.

• Henry Adams Scholarship: Kaylee Damico, Pennsylvania State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship was established by Henry Adams Inc. in memory of its founder, a Charter Member and sixth president of ASHRAE’S predecessor society, ASHVE, in 1899.

• ASHRAE Region IV/Benny Bootle Scholarship: James Wood, Clemson University, bioengineering. The scholarship was established collaboratively by Region IV and Benny Bootle, a former Region IV director and regional chair on the ASHRAE board of directors.

• ASHRAE Region VIII Scholarship: Jacob Vazquez, Instituto Tecnológicoy deEstudios Superiores de Monterrey (ITESM), mechanical engineering. This scholarship was established by Region VIII, which includes Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Mexico and parts of Louisiana and Texas.

• J. Richard Mehalick Scholarship: Matthew Kaminski, University of Pittsburgh, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was created by a former ASHRAE member who was instrumental in the development of air conditioning equipment used in commercial, military, aerospace and transportation applications.

• Donald E. Nichols Scholarship: Jonathan Squires, Tennessee Technological University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by a former member of ASHRAE’s board of directors who served for four terms.

• ASHRAE Memorial Scholarship: Terrance Eakin, Ohio State University, mechanical engineering.

• Associate of Engineering Technology: Robert Toungate, Austin Community College, heating, air conditioning and refrigeration technology; and Morgan Najewicz, Pennsylvania State University-Fayette, building engineering technology with building environmental systems technology option.

• Bachelor of Engineering Technology: Matthew Kuli, Pennsylvania State University-Erie, mechanical engineering technology.

• ASHRAE General Scholarships: Matthew Reeves, University of South Florida, pre-engineering; and Alexander Cox, Washington University, mechanical engineering.

For more information on ASHRAE scholarships, visit www.ashrae.org/scholarships. Applications are now being accepted for the 2011-12 undergraduate, regional, and university-specific scholarships. The deadline is Dec. 1, 2010.

Publication date: 09/13/2010

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2015 ACCA Conference

Images from the 2015 ACCA Conference in Grapevine, Texas. Posted on April 8, 2015.


NEWSMakers: Clint Schreck

Clint Schreck, general manager, Columbus Worthington Air, Columbus, Ohio, discusses winning Angie’s List Super Service Award, how to handle online reviews, and much more.

More Podcasts


NEWS 05-25-15 cover

2015 May 25

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe

Legislation and Regulation

What legislative/regulatory issue is most important to you as a HVAC business owner?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to ACHRNews.com. Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con