ASHRAE Assists College Students

August 31, 2009
/ Print / Reprints /
/ Text Size+

ATLANTA - In order to reduce the financial strain on engineering students across the country, the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) will award over $80,000 in scholarship money for the 2009-2010 school year.

“Any investment in relevant education is of great importance, as it prepares individuals to become effective citizens,” Victor Goldschmidt, chair of the ASHRAE Scholarship Trustees, said. “This is more notable in the area of HVACR, as it enhances the advancement of the arts and sciences of HVACR for the benefit and future of society.”

The 16 recipients of ASHRAE’s scholarship assistance are as follows:

Reuben Trane Scholarship: $10,000 to be awarded over two years, Daniela Sifuentes, George Fox University, mechanical engineering.

Willis H. Carrier Scholarships: $10,000 for one year, Sean Kolich, Kansas State University, architectural engineering, and Felipe Pincheira, Southern Illinois University, mechanical/civil engineering.

Frank M. Coda Scholarship: $5,000 for one year, Andrea Gregg, Kansas State University, architectural engineering.

The following awards include one-year $3,000 scholarships: Duane Hanson Scholarship: Ryan Beaudrie, Lawrence Technological University, mechanical engineering; Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: Kelly Griffith, Kansas State University, architectural engineering; Henry Adams Scholarship: Dakota Kelley, University of Nebraska, architectural engineering; ASHRAE Region IV/Benny Bootle Scholarship: James Wood, Clemson University, general engineering; ASHRAE Region VIII Scholarship: Andrew Cunningham, Oklahoma Christian University, mechanical engineering; J. Richard Mehalick Scholarship: Daniel Hehman, University of Pittsburgh, mechanical engineering; Donald E. Nichols Scholarship: Mallory Johnston, Tennessee Technological University, mechanical engineering; ASHRAE Memorial Scholarship: James Moriarty, University of Connecticut, civil/environmental engineering; Associate of Engineering Technology: Craig Daniels, University of Northwestern Ohio, HVACR technology; Bachelor of Engineering Technology: Benjamin Lipscomb, Montana State University, mechanical engineering technology; and ASHRAE General Scholarships: Sean Holder, St. Louis University, mechanical engineering and Jeremy Tucker, Portland State University, mechanical engineering.

For more information, visit

Publication date: 08/31/2009

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2014 World Energy Engineering Congress

Scenes from the 2014 World Energy Engineering Congress in Washington, D.C.


NEWSMakers: Matt Barga

Matt Barga, portfolio manager — a/c and coils, Ingersoll Rand, discusses how the company is working to comply with the new energy conservation standards for heat pumps and air conditioners that go into effect on Jan. 1, 2015. Posted on Dec. 19.

More Podcasts


NEWS 12-15-14 cover

2014 December 15

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe


In order to bring more people into the trade and produce more technicians, what should the industry do?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con