ASHRAE Recognizes Achievements

July 6, 2009
/ Print / Reprints /
/ Text Size+

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) recognized 56 members for contributions to ASHRAE and the HVACR industry at its 2009 Annual Conference held June 20-24.

The Louise and Bill Holladay Distinguished Fellow Award honors an ASHRAE Fellow for continuous preeminence in engineering or research work. The recipient was Wilbert F. Stoecker, Ph.D., P.E. Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, professor emeritus, Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The Andrew T. Boggs Service Award recognizes a past Distinguished Service Award recipient for continuing, unselfish, dedicated and distinguished service. The recipient was Laurance S. Staples Jr., Life Member, who resides in Prairie Village, Kan.

The Exceptional Service Award recognizes Distinguished Award recipients who have continued to serve the society faithfully and with exemplary effort. Five recipients were recognized: Mark C. Hegberg, product manager, Danfoss Heating Controls, Elmhurst, Ill.; Giustino N. Mastro, P.E., Life Member, associate director, Physical Plant, University of Vermont, Burlington, Vt.; Hugh D. McMillan III, P.E., senior mechanical engineer, CCRD Partners, Houston; Andrew K. Persily, Ph.D., Fellow ASHRAE, group leader, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Md.; and J. Thomas Sobieski, retired from York International Corp. as director of special products, Airside Products Group.

The Distinguished Service Award salutes members of any grade for giving freely of their time and talent to the society. The following 18 members were selected: Hoy R. Bohanon Jr.; James J. Coogan; Stephen W. Duda; Steven J. Emmerich; David F. Geary; Klas C. Haglid; Michael N. Hart, P.E.; Jan L. M. Hensen, Ph.D.; Giustino N. Mastro, P.E.; Kirk T. Mescher; Keith C. Newcomer; Bert Phillips, P.Eng.; Wayne R. Reedy; Robert B. Risley; Emily Sandru, Ph.D., P.E.; M. Ginger Scoggins, P.E.; Peter Simmonds, Ph.D.; and John W. Wells III, P.E.

Other honors awarded included the Distinguished 50-Year Member Award, Crosby Field Award, Willis H. Carrier Award, Lincoln Bouillon Award, Dan Mills Technical Award, Chapter Program Star Award, Environmental Health Award, Standards Achievement Award, ASHRAE Student Activities Achievement Award, Milton W. Garland Commemorative Refrigeration Award, and Refrigeration Comfort Cooling Award for Project Excellence.

For a complete list of awards and winners, visit

Publication date: 07/06/2009

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2014 World Energy Engineering Congress

Scenes from the 2014 World Energy Engineering Congress in Washington, D.C.


NEWSMakers: Andy Heinze

Andy Heinze, distribution channel development manager, Sporlan Division of Parker Hannifin, discusses Sporlan's new refrigeration system training center. Posted Dec. 11.

More Podcasts


NEWS 12-15-14 cover

2014 December 15

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe


In order to bring more people into the trade and produce more technicians, what should the industry do?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con