Recognizing Achievements

March 2, 2009
/ Print / Reprints /
/ Text Size+

CHICAGO - The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) recognized 46 people for their contributions to ASHRAE and the HVACR industry at the society’s 2009 Winter Conference.

The ASHRAE Distinguished Public Service award, presented to Kenneth M. Fulk, P.E., principal and chief mechanical engineer of Reed, Wells Benson and Co., Dallas, recognizes distinguished public service by an ASHRAE member.

ASHRAE also elevated 22 members to fellow status. This membership grade recognizes distinction in the arts and sciences of environmental technology. The honor is earned through achievement as a researcher, designer, educator or engineering executive.

The ASHRAE Technology Awards recognize outstanding achievements by members who have successfully applied innovative building designs that incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and IAQ. Four projects received first-place ASHRAE Technology Awards, among which was Thomas H. Durkin, P.E., Durkin and Villalta Partners Engineering, Indianapolis, in the existing institutional buildings category for HVAC renovations at George Washington Carver Elementary School, Indianapolis.

Also in the Technology Awards, Eric Kirkland, Smithgroup, Phoenix, received second place in the new institutional buildings category for the National Renewable Energy Laboratory Science and Technology Facility, Golden, Colo.

The ASHRAE Student Design Project Competition challenged teams of students to create architectural design as well as select and design HVACR systems for a 60,000-square-foot community recreation center.

First place in the HVAC system selection category was awarded to Alyssa Adams, Calvin Douglass, James Gawthrop Jr., Justin Herzing, Amy Leventry, Michael Smith, and Gregory Smithmyer of The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pa.

First place in the HVAC system design category went to Wiroj Ekwongmunkong, Chaowanaphan Lekkham, Pakorn Nontiwatwanich, Patarapol Puangkum, and Supayos Suveepattananont of Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand. First place in the architectural design category was awarded to Alexandra Gibson, Justina Jones, Bryan Quarles, and Bazigha Tufail of the University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kan.

For more information on other awards, visit

Publication date: 03/02/2009

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2014 World Energy Engineering Congress

Scenes from the 2014 World Energy Engineering Congress in Washington, D.C.


NEWSMakers: Kari Arfstrom

Kari Arfstrom, executive director of the HVACR Workforce Development Foundation, talks about the upcoming HVACR & Mechanical Conference. Posted on Jan. 23.

More Podcasts


NEWS 01-26-15 cover

2015 January 26

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe

Regional Standards

With regional standards for a/c equipment going into effect in 2015, how do you think it will impact the industry?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con