Distributors Win Pinnacle Award

DALLAS - American Standard Heating & Air Conditioning recently honored eight distributors who won its first annual Pinnacle Award at a two-day event at the Four Seasons Hotel in Dallas.

American Standard leadership was on hand and accessible to the senior management of the winning firms during the two days of celebration, best practice training, and candid dialogue.

“We shared information and also solicited our winners’ feedback on everything from product development and promotion plans,” said Jamie Byrne, vice president of sales for American Standard Heating & Air Conditioning. “It makes sense for us and for our entire family of distributors to hear from the best of the best.”

The Pinnacle winners include A/C Supply Inc., Aces A/C Supply Inc., American/Universal Supply Inc., J. B. Myers Group Inc., Lyon, Conklin & Co. Inc., O’Connor Co. Inc., Specialty A/C Products, and Yandle-Witherspoon Supply Inc.


At the event, attendees shared candid dialogue with company executives. This included time with Fred Poses, chairman and CEO of American Standard Companies Inc. Poses took questions from the winners on a wide range of topics, including the corporation’s recent announcement that it plans to sell its bath and kitchen unit, also sold under the American Standard brand name. Poses clarified that the American Standard corporation will retain the right to use the American Standard name and logo for the HVAC industry so that it’s “business as usual” for American Standard Heating & Air distributors and dealers.

There had been some recent confusion among some American Standard distributors and dealers who thought the spin-off of the American Standard bath and kitchen unit might affect the HVAC brand. The American Standard brand is alive and well, according to Poses. “We will still be selling a premium HVAC brand called American Standard after the sale of the bath and kitchen unit,” Poses said. “Our aggressive growth goals haven’t changed.”

The Pinnacle Award is all new for 2006, replacing a prior distributor of the year award. Pinnacle Awards are given in four groups, based on the size of a distributor’s business. Distributors win the award for meeting metrics aligned with business goals, as compared to others in their peer group.

“Our Pinnacle winners win access to American Standard’s top leadership and to other top-performing, non-competitive distributors,” Byrne said. “It’s a valuable meeting.” Additional meetings will be held this year, and the 2007 Pinnacle Awards program is already underway.

Publication date: 04/09/2007

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2015 ACCA Conference

Images from the 2015 ACCA Conference in Grapevine, Texas. Posted on April 8, 2015.


NEWSMakers: Leslie McDowell

Leslie McDowell, director of communications at the Building Performance Institute Inc., discusses the nonprofit organization's new homeowner centric website. Posted on April 10.

More Podcasts


NEWS 04-13-15 cover

2015 April 13

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe

Global Warming

Do you believe in man-made global warming?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con