HVAC Breaking News

March 3, 2004: SBSC Honors Congressional Small Business Advocates

WASHINGTON - The Small Business Survival Committee (SBSC) has presented 287 members of the U.S. Congress with its "2004 Small Business Advocate" award. According to the organization, the award is presented to members of Congress who demonstrate a commitment to America's small businesses by voting in favor of key legislation important to their growth and survival.

"Small businesses are the engine of growth for our recovering economy," stated Karen Kerrigan, SBSC chair. "By standing up for small businesses, these legislators are playing a vital role in encouraging our current economic recovery. The measures they voted for will help small businesses stay strong, innovate, invest, and create jobs for the long term."

Key votes rated by SBSC include: tax relief and business investment incentives; repeal of the estate tax; health insurance affordability legislation including Health Savings Accounts and Association Health Plans; measures that expand business access to overseas markets; and efforts to maintain the affordability of the nation's energy supply.

Those honored, in alphabetical order, include:

House of Representatives

Robert Aderholt
Todd Akin
Spencer Bachus
Richard Baker
Cass Ballenger
J. Gresham Barrett
Roscoe Bartlett
Joe Barton
Charles F. Bass
Bob Beauprez
Doug Bereuter
Judy Biggert
Michael Bilirakis
Robert Bishop
Marsha Blackburn
Roy Blunt
Sherwood L. Boehlert
John Boehner
Henry Bonilla
Jo Bonner
Mary Bono
John Boozman
Jeb Bradley
Kevin Brady
Henry Brown
Virginia Brown-Waite
Michael Burgess
Max Burns
Richard Burr
Dan Burton
Stephen Buyer
Ken Calvert
Dave Camp
Christopher Cannon
Eric Cantor
Shelley Moore Capito
John Carter
Ed Case
Michael Castle
Steve Chabot
Chris Chocola
Howard Coble
Tom Cole
Michael Collins
Christopher Cox
Robert "Bud" Cramer
Phil Crane
Ander Crenshaw
Barbara Cubin
John Culberson
Randy "Duke" Cunningham
Lincoln Davis
Jo Ann Davis
Tom Davis
Nathan Deal
Tom DeLay
Jim DeMint
Lincoln Diaz-Balart
Mario Diaz-Balart
Cal Dooley
John Doolittle
David Dreier
John Duncan
Jennifer Dunn
Vernon Ehlers
Jo Ann Emerson
Phil English
Terry Everett
Tom Feeney
Mike Ferguson
Jeff Flake
Ernie Fletcher
Mark Foley
Randy Forbes
Vito Fossella
Trent Franks
Rodney Frelinghuysen
Elton Gallegly
Scott Garrett
James Gerlach
Jim Gibbons
Wayne Gilchrest
Paul Gillmor
Phil Gingrey
Virgil Goode
Bob Goodlatte
Porter Goss
Kay Granger
Sam Graves
Mark Green
James Greenwood
Gil Gutknecht
Ralph Hall
Katherine Harris
Melissa Hart
Dennis Hastert
Doc Hastings
Robert Hayes
J.D. Hayworth
Joel Hefley
Thomas Hensarling
Wally Herger
David Hobson
Peter Hoekstra
John Hostettler
Amo Houghton
Kenny Hulshof
Duncan Hunter
Henry Hyde
Johnny Isakson
Darrell Issa
Bill Janklow
Bill Jenkins
Christopher John
Nancy Johnson
Sam Johnson
Tim Johnson
Walter Jones
Ric Keller
Sue Kelly
Mark Kennedy
Peter King
Steve King
Jack Kingston
Mark Kirk
John Kline
Joseph Knollenberg
Jim Kolbe
Ray LaHood
Steven LaTourette
Tom Latham
James Leach
Jerry Lewis
Ron Lewis
John Linder
Frank LoBiondo
Frank Lucas
Ken Lucas
Don Manzullo
Jim Matheson
Thaddeus McCotter
Jim McCrery
John McHugh
Scott McInnis
Howard "Buck" McKeon
John Mica
Candice Miller
Gary Miller
Jeff Miller
Jerry Moran
Tim Murphy
Marilyn Musgrave
Sue Myrick
George Nethercutt
Randy Neugebauer
Robert Ney
Anne Northrup
Devin Nunes
Jim Nussle
Tom Osborne
Doug Ose
Butch Otter
Michael Oxley
Ron Paul
Steve Pearce
Mike Pence
John Peterson
Tom Petri
Charles Pickering
Joseph Pitts
Todd Platts
Richard Pombo
Jon Porter
Rob Portman
Deborah Pryce
Adam Putnam
Jack Quinn
George Radanovich
Jim Ramstad
Ralph Regula
Dennis Rehberg
Richard Renzi
Thomas Reynolds
Harold Rogers
Mike Rogers
Dana Rohrabacher
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
Ed Royce
Paul Ryan
Jim Ryun
Jim Saxton
Ed Schrock
Jim Sensenbrenner
Pete Sessions
John Shadegg
Clay Shaw
Christopher Shays
Don Sherwood
John Shimkus
Bill Shuster
Rob Simmons
Michael Simpson
Christopher Smith
Lamar Smith
Nick Smith
Adam Smith
Mark Souder
Cliff Stearns
John Sullivan
John Sweeney
Tom Tancredo
Billy Tauzin
Charles Taylor
Lee Terry
Bill Thomas
Mac Thornberry
Todd Tiahrt
Pat Tiberi
Pat Toomey
Michael Turner
Fred Upton
David Vitter
Greg Walden
James Walsh
Zach Wamp
Curt Weldon
Dave Weldon
Jerry Weller
Ed Whitfield
Roger Wicker
Heather Wilson
Joe Wilson
Frank Wolf
Bill Young
Don Young

U.S. Senate

Lamar Alexander
Wayne Allard
George Allen
Robert Bennett
Kit Bond
Sam Brownback
Jim Bunning
Conrad Burns
Ben Nighthorse Campbell
Saxby Chambliss
Thad Cochran
Norm Coleman
Susan Collins
John Cornyn
Larry Craig
Mike Crapo
Mike DeWine
Elizabeth Dole
Pete Domenici
John Ensign
Michael Enzi
Peter Fitzgerald
Bill Frist
Lindsey Graham
Chuck Grassley
Judd Gregg
Chuck Hagel
Orrin Hatch
Kay Hutchison
James Inhofe
Jon Kyl
Blanche Lincoln
Trent Lott
Richard Lugar
Mitch McConnell
Zell Miller
Lisa Murkowski
Ben Nelson
Don Nickles
Pat Roberts
Rick Santorum
Jeff Sessions
Gordon Smith
Arlen Specter
Ted Stevens
John Sununu
Jim Talent
Craig Thomas
George Voinovich
John Warner

The Small Business Survival Committee is a national nonprofit small business advocacy organization with 70,000 members nationwide. This year marks its 10th anniversary. For more information, visit www.sbsc.org.

Publication date: 03/01/2004

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to The NEWS Magazine

Recent Articles by Greg Mazurkiewicz

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries

2015 HARDI Fly-In

Highlights from HARDI's Congressional Fly-In in Washington, D.C. Post date: May 28, 2015.


NEWSMakers: Kevin Conrad
Kevin Conrad, president, Kevin Conrad Heating and Cooling Inc., Nantucket, Massachusetts, breaks down working in the New England climate, the benefits of insulation foam, and more.

More Podcasts


NEWS 06-29-15 cover

2015 June 29

Check out the weekly edition of The NEWS today!

Table Of Contents Subscribe

Online Reviews

Do you track online review sites like Yelp to look for comments on your company’s performance?
View Results Poll Archive


2015 National Plumbing & HVAC Estimator

Every plumbing and HVAC estimator can use the cost estimates in this practical manual!

More Products

Clear Seas Research


Clear Seas ResearchWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications, Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


Magazine image
Register today for complete access to ACHRNews.com. Get full access to the latest features, Extra Edition, and more.


facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconLinkedIn i con